Stocker & Quezada Win 2024 Northwest/McGahan Honor Award

(Grand Island, NE) - The annual McGahan Honor Awards were given out in front of the Northwest student body this morning, Monday, April 15th. One winner from the 10 female finalists and one winner from the 10 male finalists were selected to receive $1,000 to better their future. This year the winners were seniors Noah Stocker and Nely Quezada. Stocker said he plans to use the money to pay some bills toward his cattle. Quezada hopes to put her winnings toward he education as she plans to study law at the University of Nebraska at Omaha. The award is named after Jim and Martha McGahan (teachers at NW from 1967 to 2000) were on hand to present the award that is presented annually to two Northwest seniors who show an array of qualities including respect for others, hard work, cooperation, and overall academic succession. 

2024 Finalist 

BOYS: Noah Stoker - Carson Kunze - Aarya Bhatt - Ethan Gydesen - Cooper Ewoldt - Cole Martin - Drew Phillips - Braden Horst - Dylan Coates - Riley Ruehling

GIRLS: Macy Moran - Kyla Sybrandts - Mikyna Stopkotte - Sophia Chen - Nely Quezada - Alyx Beck - Madyson Schley - Courtney Dramse - Shalee Noorlander - Kathrine Byerly